FA to appoint Triesman successor in 2011

Whilst Roger Burden and David Sheepshanks have been in charge since Triesman’s resignation, a number of high profile names, such as Sir Alan Sugar, Sir Terry Leahy and Martin Broughton have been linked with the vacancy.

The FA will be keen to make the right choice, with the government exerting pressure on them to show leadership, or they could enforce change from the outside.