Henry claims Ireland missed opportunity

William Gallas headed in the controversial winner for France against the Irish on Wednesday, after Thierry Henry twice handled the ball before crossing.

He said on his Twitter page: “I’m not the referee, but if I hurt someone I’m sorry.

“It was not a beautiful match. It was just neccesary to exploit what was exploitable.

“The Irishmen could have doubled their lead two or three times. The ball ran up against my hand and I continued to play, the referee did not whistle and there was a goal.

“I would have preferred that it happened differently but this is not down to me – it is the referee. However, I do not believe our qualification is stolen.

“I said to Richard Dunne that the ball had touched my hand, but he told me, ‘you are not to blame’.”