Kilbane hits out at Hansson

William Gallas sent France to the World Cup finals instead of Irealand after he had been set up by Thierry Henry, who twice used his hand to control the ball.

Writing in the Sunday Times, Kilbane said: “A couple of us stopped playing when Henry handled the ball.

“I suppose we shouldn’t have because we might have been able to deal with the cross, but the handball was so blatant.

“I probably had the best view, along with Shay Given and Keith Andrews. We were staring right at Henry.

“The initial handball, which he possibly couldn’t have avoided, took the ball away from him, but he cut it back for himself with the second touch of his hand.

“That’s what I saw and that is why I thought it was so clear.

“I asked the referee at half-time in extra time, ‘Did you see it?’ and he told me ‘I can 100% say it wasn’t handball’.

“Those were his exact words. That is what made it even more annoying.

“I don’t know how he can make a comment like that when he hasn’t seen it.”