FIFA Club World Cup 2009 Guide

The FIFA Club World Cup this year will take place in the United Arab Emirates.

The football-mad nation will host their third FIFA tournament, after hosting the 2003 FIFA U-20 World Cup and the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup this year.

The Club World Cup bring together the reigning champions from the major continental competitions.

The competition started in Brazil in 2000, when Corinthians won. Since then Sao Paulo, Internacional Porto Alegre, AC Milan and Manchester United have won the championship.

For betting picks for the Club World Cup, please visit this page.

The participating club teams this year:

Al Ahli
The Dubai-based outfit managed to qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup UAE 2009 by winning the domestic league. Midfielders Hosny Abd Rabo and Clederson Cesar and forwards Bare, Faisal Khalil, Ahmad Khalil and Ismail Al Hammadi are their key players.

The Iron Colts won the CONCACAF Champions League, losing just two of the 12 games they played. Atlante managed to beat fellow Mexicans Cruz Azul 2-0 in the final. Federico Vilar, Gabriel Pereyra, Christian Bermudez, Luis Gabriel Rey and Rafael Marquez are their key players.

Auckland City
The New Zealanders will be looking to win their first game in the tournament in December after losing to Al Ahly and Jeonbuk Hyundai in 2006. Auckland were crowned Oceania champions for the second time in four years when they managed to beat Salomon Islanders’ Koloale. James Pritchett, Ivan Vicelich and Keryn Jordan are their key players.

The Spanish giants were the highest-scoring team in last season’s Champions League with 30 goals. They managed to beat last season’s Club World Cup winners Manchester United in the final. Among their key players you find Carles Puyol, Rafael Marquez, Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi and Thierry Henry.

Estudiantes de La Plata
The Argentines became the first team to win the Libertadores title, in the tournament’s current format, after coming through the qualifying round. Leandro Desabato, Cristian Cellay, Rodrigo Brana, Mauro Boselli, Jose Luis Calderon and former Manchester United star Juan Sebastian Veron are their key players.

Pohang Steelers
The Korea Republic side became the first club in Asia to win the continental championship three times when they beat Saudi Arabian giants Al Ittihad in the final in Tokyo. Kim Gi-Dong, Choi Hyo-Jin, Denilson, No Byung-Jun, Steve Ristik, Hwang Jae-Won and Kim Hyung-Il are their key players.

TP Mazembe
They won the CAF Champions League final in November 2009 by beating Nigerian side Heartland 2-2 on aggregate, ont he away goals rule. Robert Kidiaba, Eric Nkulukuta, Tshai Mukinayi, Patou Kabangu, Narcisse Ekanga, Tresor Mputu and Alain Kaluyitukadioko are key players at the club.


Thursday, December 9
Al Ahli (UAE) vs. Auckland City (NZL)

Friday, December 11
TP Mazembe (COD) vs. Pohang Steelers (KOR)
Sunday, December 12
Playoff Winner vs. Atlante (MEX)

Wednesday, December 15
First Quarterfinal Winner vs. Estudiantes de La Plata (ARG)
Thursday, December 16
Second Quarterfinal Winner vs. Barcelona (ESP)

Fifth Place Match
Thursday, December 16
First Quarterfinal Loser vs. Second Quarterfinal Loser

Third Place Match
Sunday, December 19
First Semifinal Loser vs. Second Semifinal Loser

Sunday, December 19
First Semifinal Winner vs. Second Semifinal Winner