Ballon D’or nominations dominated by Spain

Xavi, Andres Iniesta, David Villa and Carles Puyol are joined by Cesc Fabregas, Iker Casillas and Xabi Alonso.

Other frontrunners include Golden Boot winner Diego Forlan, Lionel Messi and Wesley Sneijder.

As well as Sneijder, Inter Milan have three other nominees following their record breaking treble last year – Maicon, Julio Cesar and Samuel Eto’o.