FIFA Club World Cup 2008 Guide

The Club World Cup bring together the reigning champions from the major continental competitions.

The competition started in Brazil in 2000, when Corinthians won. Since then Sao Paulo, Internacional Porto Alegre and AC Milan have won the championship.

The participating club teams this year include:

Manchester United
United beat Chelsea in the Champions League final in Moscow last season. They are probably the favourites to win the Club World Cup this season. In the first Club World Cup in Brazil in 2000, they bowed out in the group stages. United boss Sir Alex Ferguson will bring all of his star players to Japan for the competition.

Adelaide United
Adelaide are the Asian Champions League Runners-up. Adelaide are the third Australian side to play in the Club World Cup. South Melbourne in 2000 and Sydney FC in 2005 are the other two. Travis Doss is their most important player.

Al Ahly
The Egyptan side won the African Champions League on 16 November after beating Coton Sport 4-2 on aggregate. The club was formed in 1907 and are Africa’s most successful club. Mohamed Barakat is their most important players.

Gamba Osaka
The winners of the Asian Champions League after beating Adelaide United in the final. The club was formed in 1980 and has only won one J League title. Yasuhito Endo is the player to watch.

The winners of the CONCACAF Champions League. The club was founded in 1901 and have won three CONCACAF Champions League titles in the last 10 years. Miguel Calero is the player to watch at Pachuca.

LDU Quito
The winners of the South American Libertadores Cup. The club was formed in 1930 and have won nine league titles and is the only club from Ecuador to win the Copa Libertadores. Jose Cevallos is the player to watch.

Waitakere United
The club was formed in 2004 but has already established themselves as the best club in New Zealand. Won the OFC Champions League by beating Kossa of the Solomon Islands 6-3 on aggregate. Danny Hay is the player to watch.


Thursday, December 11
Adelaide United (AUS) vs. Waitakere United (NZL)

Friday, December 12
Al Ahly (EGY) vs. Pachuca (MEX)
Sunday, December 14
Playoff Winner vs. Gamba Osaka (JAP)

Wednesday, December 17
First Quarterfinal Winner vs. LDU Quito (Ecuador)
Thursday, December 18
Second Quarterfinal Winner vs. Manchester United (ENG)

Fifth Place Match
Thursday, December 18
First Quarterfinal Loser vs. Second Quarterfinal Loser

Third Place Match
Sunday, December 21
First Semifinal Loser vs. Second Semifinal Loser

Sunday, December 21
First Semifinal Winner vs. Second Semifinal Winner